Sermon uploaded

 

 

A sermon entitled, “Scripture Fulfilled in Your Hearing,” based on Luke 4, the account of Jesus reading from the prophet Isaiah, has been uploaded.  Click on “Sermons on YouTube” for the site.

Jesus1.jpg

“Only those who are sick require the doctor (Matt. 9:12); only the sheep that is lost is looked for (Luke 15:4); only the captive is freed (Luke 4:18; Is. 61:1); only the poor man is enriched; only the weak man is made strong; only the humble man is exalted (Luke 1:52); only what is empty is filled; only what is scattered can be assembled. The truth is, as the philosophers say: Matter cannot be given a form unless it previously was formless or its earlier from has

 

been put off…God satisfies none but the hungry and the thirsty. Therefore he who is satisfied with his own truth and wisdom cannot contain the truth and wisdom of God. These can only be received in a vacuum and an empty space. Therefore let us say to God: Oh, how gladly are we empty, so that Thou mayest be full in us! Gladly am I weak, so that Thy strength may dwell in me! Gladly am I a sinner, so that Thou mayest be justified in me! Gladly am I foolish, so that Thou mayest be my Wisdom! Gladly am I unrighteous, so that Thou mayest be my Righteousness! See, this is what is meant by: “Against Thee, Thee only, have I sinned….that Thou mightest be justified when Thou speakest”” (Ps 51:4). (Plass, What Luther Says, #2097, p674-675) 

