Announcements for the week of August 25, 2013

 

13-08-25, Pentecost 12, BA-2013C

 

Apology, IV. Justification

Ps. 143:2, “Enter not into judgment with thy servant, for no man living is righteous before thee.” This absolutely denies any glory in man’s righteousness, even to all the saints and servants of God, if God does not forgive but judges and condemns their hearts. When David elsewhere boasts of his righteousness, he is speaking of his cause against the persecutors of God’s Word, not of his personal purity. He prays for the defense of God’s cause and his glory, as in Ps. 7:8, “Judge me, O Lord, according to my righteousness and according to the integrity that is in me.” Similarly, in Ps. 130:3 he says that no one can stand the judgment of God if he observes our sins, “If thou, O Lord, shouldst mark iniquities, Lord, who could stand?”

Job 9:28, “I feared all my works”; vv. 30–31, “If I wash myself with snow, and cleanse my hands with lye, yet thou wilt plunge me into a pit.” Prov. 20:9, “Who can say, ‘I have made my heart clean, I am pure from my sin?”

1 John 1:8, “If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.” And in the Lord’s Prayer the saints pray for the forgiveness of sins; therefore saints have sins, too. (Tappert, 326-328)

